Home > art, geekpost, photos > Whipmaking

Whipmaking

If you didn’t think I was serious about the whips, here is proof that I am actually obsessed.  Yesterday I got the package I needed to start making my whip: 3 boxes of 50 cartridges each of rifle ammunition.  Why did I get tiny copper bullets that I then needed to pry open to get the lead shot out, instead of just a bag of lead shot?

That would be because I didn’t find that site until just now, despite it taking hours to even find a site that sold #12 lead shot.  Sigh.

Well, now I know.  But yes, instead, I bought 150 copper cartridges filled with tiny balls of lead.  It was the tiny balls of lead that I needed to fill the core of my whip.  So my afternoon was spent prying each cartridge open with scissors and an allen wrench and dumping each ounce or so of lead shot into an empty pill bottle.

Once I’d done one box, I decided to start making the shotbag.  Following these two tutorials, I cut a tapered strip of leather, duct-taped it into a cone shape, and filled it with the painstakingly-extracted lead shot.

Over the shotbag, I tied on a leather bolster, which is now as far as I can go until I cut some laces to start braiding on the first layer of the belly.  So, there’s still a lot of work to do, but I am still inordinately proud of how the whip looks so far.

I can’t wait to start braiding!

Categories: art, geekpost, photos
  1. Max
    June 25, 2010 at 5:02 pm

    Well, look at you! Watcha gonna do with that nice whip when it’s done?

    • June 25, 2010 at 10:49 pm

      Well, I don’t know for sure yet, Sir! I guess I should learn how to throw it. Or perhaps offer to let someone practice on me

      • Max
        June 26, 2010 at 6:46 pm

        We’ll work on both of those in a few weeks. Offering isn’t really required, of course…

  2. Dov
    June 25, 2010 at 8:18 pm

    Interesting start waiting for the finish

    • June 25, 2010 at 10:52 pm

      Me too!

  1. June 29, 2010 at 10:47 am
  2. July 10, 2010 at 10:18 pm

Leave a Reply

