Home > links, sex toy review, sundry > A review: LoveHoney’s Sqweel; and Eco-Friendly Sex toys!

A review: LoveHoney’s Sqweel; and Eco-Friendly Sex toys!

I first heard about this uniquely designed sex toy through Jake, back in October.  The winning submission to LoveHoney’s first Design a Sex Toy contest, the Sqweel caught my eye with its innovative form and concept, and so I was excited to be able to review the toy for Babeland.

The Sqweel comes in a tin box along with a little instruction booklet and a packet of lube.  The outer black casing of the toy is a hard, sturdy plastic, and the pink tongues are, for lack of a better word, squishy and soft and made of silicone.  There is a simple switch on the flat end to turn the wheel on, with three speeds: low, medium, and high.

I was a little surprised by the level of noise the Sqweel makes when I first turned it on.  It’s a sound rather accurately described by the name of the toy itself, a bit of a high, mechanical squealing that proved to be distracting.  I first tried it without the lube, and it was alright, but using the lube does make a difference.  And it’s cool that the toy can be used in both directions – with the tongues “licking” down or licking upwards, to varying effects.

Cool as this toy is, however, I was unable to get an orgasm out of it.  My primary issue is the noise – way too distracting, and kind of a turn off.  I also found the highest speed setting to be a little intense, but anything lower and the wheel stopped turning if I put too much pressure on it.  Which I imagine most women instinctively will do to a toy that stimulates cunnilingus – want to vary the pressure of the sensations.

All of that said, I still like the concept of the toy.  I think it’s a great first draft of what could be an amazing toy several iterations down the pipeline.  I hope they continue to improve on it, especially to deal with the noise issue.

To continue the Babeland trend, I found out that throughout the month of April the sex toy store is giving 20% of all its eco-toy sales to Grist.org, a news site focusing on environmental issues with the tagline, “A Beacon in the Smog.”  Clicking the banner below will take you to their full information page, which also includes a list of their eco-friendly toys.

Eco-friendly toys include those made of glass, stainless steel, wood, and silicone, as well as rechargeable vibrators.

And to continue the trend again and make my last little plug, my favorite SOMA café also offers various toys made of recycled items, such as inner tube floggers.  They also support many local artists, toymakers, and writers.  In fact, this upcoming Sunday will be the opening of their latest art show, featuring the photographs of Fakir Musafar in an exhibit called “GenderFlex.”  I can’t wait to see the photos!

Categories: links, sex toy review, sundry
  1. April 3, 2010 at 12:49 pm

    Thanks for the shout out. It’s a shame about the noise, but I guess it’s necessary to overcome the friction involved with the use of this type of toy.

  2. Dov
    April 3, 2010 at 9:25 pm

    Neat concept they should have gone a bit more heavy duty to overcome that noise and power issue.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

