Home > life, sundry > Thrive

Thrive

January 24, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

I actually feel like I’m thriving – quietly, but thriving nonetheless.  And what a welcome change that is from the past three weeks of consecutive illnesses and doctor’s appointments (and my period, blech)!

To date: I have a get-together planned to practice self-suspension with Fivestar (and maybe work on her boots if there’s time); I will be going to see T to also work on his boots and see if I can’t smooth out the weld on my suspension ring with his tools; I am doing a skill trade with someone who will be teaching me Drupal and PHP in exchange for rope bondage lessons; I have a commissioned logo design in the works for a friend; I am taking a “photowalk” organized by a small group of local photographers this weekend; and I just submitted a volunteer application to help out at International Ms. Leather 2010, which will be during the second weekend in April.

So, lots going on, lots to be excited about, lots to keep me busy and active.  There is also much, much more I still want to burrow into: taking dance and yoga lessons, finding a climbing partner and getting a climbing gym membership, working on increasing my general health and fitness, taking more photos by walking around the city, reading more books – I miss that last terribly, leisure reading.  I’ve left so many of my books back east, and inertia has stayed my hand in getting more reading material here.  But now that I’ve finally paid off the library fines my housemate left me with when I borrowed two books he needed for him and he failed to return them, I don’t feel like I can never set foot inside a library again.

(Among other things, my mother raised me with an instilled fear and loathing of overdue library fines.  And I took out a lot of library books, so I guess it’s understandable that she wouldn’t have wanted to pay for my forgetfulness.  But boy, did I cower in fear from her fiery wrath whenever we received an overdue notice.)

In any case, between all of this, there is working at the café, which is always an adventure and full of unexpected joys and surprises.  Today I was pulled aside by a woman looking for input on a potential new product geared towards women and their sexuality.  There was much waffle batter made, much snark to be had, and lots of dishes done.  Just another day of working at a kinky café!

Categories: life, sundry
  1. Max
    January 24, 2010 at 10:11 pm

    So many good things – and a web site to redesign!

    BTW – your IMsL link is broken.

    Max

    • January 24, 2010 at 11:49 pm

      Yikes! Fixed the link – thanks for letting me know!

      And yes, I do indeed have a website redesign to think about as well. A website and a logo at that.

  2. Dov
    January 27, 2010 at 9:43 am

    When I was about 15 I found a book I had borrowed from the library when I was 10 oopS!!!
    Returned it and found out I owed 70 dollars in fines which I didn’t have at the time, saved up my money and a year later went in to pay it off and found they didn’t have a record of it.
    Spent the 70 on books and things

    Sounds like your finally hitting your stride and thats very good to hear lack of illness is always a good thing.
    Hmm and another website as well hmmmmm! PokePokePoke!!!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

