Home > emolicious, sundry > It’s getting hot in here…

It’s getting hot in here…

January 14, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

And not in the good way.  Since yesterday morning I’ve been bedridden with what is proving to be a persistent and debilitating fever.  So when I’ve not been slightly delirious and running into the doorframe on the way to the bathroom, I’ve been alternating between bodily chills that no amount of blanketing can stop, and sweating profusely in bed.  This morning, having slept only fitfully at night, I made a cold compress with ice cubes wrapped in a bandana and lay in bed hoping to numb the fever away.  Didn’t really help as much as I’d hoped.

My poisons of choice? Advil, lots of water, and tonight, a Thai delivery that sadly has sat mostly neglected on the kitchen counter.  Despite being incredibly excited about the order, consisting of Kang Ped Bhet Yang (roasted duck in red curry with pineapple, tomato, and greens) and Tom Yum Kai (chicken in spicy-sour broth with tomato, lemongrass, lemon juice, and mushrooms), When it actually came I found myself completely lacking in appetite.

And, believe you me, there is nothing sadder than not being able to wolf down that amount of deliciousness in one sitting.  I did force myself to down one serving of soup, but then the idea of putting anything else in my stomach just made me feel nauseous.

It’s been a rough two days of trying to rest and get better, but also worrying about my shifts at the café not getting picked up, and leaving a fellow barista to work there alone for the bulk of the day.  Today, luckily, another coworker was able to assist for a few hours, which made me a lot more at ease.

Hopefully it’ll resolve itself by tomorrow, or else I’ve resigned myself to making yet another doctor’s appointment in the morning.  Housemate and I discussed why I seemed to be getting sick so frequently, and he suggested that moving into a new place requires acclimation to the area, including that area’s own particular microbe population.  And moving from a rural to urban environment especially, where human density is so much higher, probably propagates diseases more quickly than I’m used to.

Perhaps.  Considering I’m also working in food service and touching a lot of objects that come in contact with peoples’ mouths and hands, I feel like the odds are stacked against me regardless.  Whatever I have feels like a less severe version of the flu I had back in October, without the premonitory sore throat.  Hopefully that means a faster recovery time and no doctor’s visit.

Categories: emolicious, sundry
  1. Dov
    January 15, 2010 at 7:55 am

    All possibilities I would also suggest some thing which seems to work very well for me which is never touch your face before you’ve washed your hands.
    Saw that years ago on a health segment of a news program and ive not really have very many colds or flus since then.
    I am sure you will acclimatize also check out the place your living in see if here is any mold that can trigger a lot of problems.

    Send you big “hugochikensoup”

    • January 15, 2010 at 1:41 pm

      Well, I certainly wash my hands a lot working at the café. I’ve also looked for mold, but my housemate is fanatic about cleanliness, so I’m not too worried on that front.

      But those are definitely fair points and I do touch my face a lot more than most people.

  2. January 15, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Ooh, I’m sorry the Thai didn’t have the desired effect! But I agree with the roommate’s point about exposure to new bugs. When I lived in London another American friend and I had non-stop colds–constant new viruses, we decided. Also–you just got back from a trip? Don’t know if you flew, but airplane travel does it to me every time–recirculated air.

    Get well soon!

    • January 15, 2010 at 1:44 pm

      Don’t apologize (it’s not the Thai, it’s me!). I feel a lot better today, so the Thai will make a great recovery meal. And yeah, I forgot about the possibility of having caught something flying home from Seattle last week.

      Apparently, my fever craved Milanos and, once I gave my housemate some money to get some for me, was finally appeased.

  3. Max
    January 15, 2010 at 6:53 pm

    I’m so sorry you’re feeling punk.

    Guess I shouldn’t have let you fly home.

    Water, “C” and rest. And I agree with Dov – I’m really careful about frequent had washing and trying to be careful about touching my face.

    Max

    • January 15, 2010 at 9:35 pm

      I actually had to look up that punk is a slang term for feeling ill. Does that make me unhip?

      Yes, I agree (about letting me fly home). Heehee.

      I’ve actually done a complete 180, healthwise, since writing this last night, so hurrah! I try to wash my hands fairly often, though touching my face is another matter entirely…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

