Home > sundry > “Ring”ing in the New Year

“Ring”ing in the New Year

At some point during my little Seattle vacation, I was struck by a strong desire to do self-suspension.  That didn’t happen while I was there, and I also don’t have much of the gear needed to start learning.  Mainly, I need a hard point, and perhaps a suspension ring.

Then I found out that we’ve got a new item for sale at the café: a bronze suspension ring.  Upon further inquiry, the lovely Boss Lady turned me on to a marine and fishing supply company that sells stainless steel rings used for hauling in tons of fish.  And where is it located?  Seattle.

D’oh!  Alas, missed opportunity.  They sell rings of varying dimensions and thicknesses, and there are ones pretty close in size to the one at the café.  So now I’m pondering the possibility of buying one from the fishing supply company online.

Should I?  Should I not?  I can’t decide!  Anyone have advice on this matter?  Of course, I can’t do much at the moment without a readily available hard point anyway, and I’m not keen on practicing at the Citadel or at Edges.  But now the idea of self-suspension is firmly lodged in my head, and I’m going to find a way to scratch that itch!

Categories: sundry
  1. Dov
    January 8, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    Buy it, thats the source of where all the rings came from in the first place before various Rope people started having them custom made. Its a hell of a lot cheaper than buying them and paying the Kink tax.

  2. Max
    January 10, 2010 at 2:53 am

    Hi Dov!

    Here’s an example:

    http://www.seattlemarine.net/productcart/pc/showsearchresults.asp?idcategory=0&idSupplier=10&priceFrom=0&priceUntil=999999999&sku=hmiss&IDBrand=0&keyWord=&customfield=0&SearchValues=&resultCnt=20&order=2&Submit.x=0&Submit.y=0

    Many of the seine fishing rings are rough and will abraid your rope. And the welds on most of them are pretty lumpy. Buy carefully.

    I’d actually recommend the ones Monk sells, which are made by Bill – who was in the workshop you attended.

    Hugs!

    Max
    http://www.BondageLessons.com

    • January 12, 2010 at 12:25 pm

      Hmmm, that’s something I hadn’t considered. I guess I’ll just have to see what shape my ring is in – I bought one that’s 1/2″ by 6″. I think I remember Bill – the guy you first passed your marlinspike to, sitting against the wall to your left?

      Sorry I didn’t see this sooner – for some reason the comment got flagged as spam!

      Hugs!

  3. Max
    January 12, 2010 at 11:43 pm

    Yup – that was Bill. He welded Lorelei’s chain, too.

    I’d wondered why my comment wasn’t posted…

    I look forward to watching a self suspension. Start out right-side up, OK?

    Hugs,

    Max

    • January 15, 2010 at 1:39 pm

      Right-side up? Er…as in side suspension with the right side up, or face up?

      Don’t worry Sir, I plan on practicing with Fivestar. She won’t lead me astray, I reckon!

  4. Dov
    January 15, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    If there are any rough spots you can use some fine wetdry sandpaper to smooth them out shouldn’t be anything that rough.
    I agree learn which direction to go in when self suspending

  1. January 10, 2010 at 9:24 am

Leave a Reply

