Home > photos, reflection > Photoshoot

Photoshoot

December 11, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

I wasn’t sure what to expect when I agreed to do a photoshoot this past weekend.  I’d looked at the photographer’s website and the photos he posted on Fetlife, and I really like his technical ability, though I found the photos a tad more explicit than I was comfortable with.  But through corresponding with him, I felt assured that my limits wouldn’t be crossed.

What began as a potential shoot with three other girls turned into just me and one other model.  So we played it by ear and tried a couple different things.  I felt a tad unprepared with my complete lack of makeup or fetishy clothes, but since I had mentioned wanting my face obscured anyway, the first wasn’t much of an issue.

As far as level of explicitness, I certainly felt that boundary stretch a little beyond my comfort zone.  It was interesting working with two complete strangers to make these images, and it’s always difficult to visualize how those images will look.  I was again very impressed with the photographer’s technical insights, and I learned a bit myself, just from listening to him think aloud while running around moving lights here and there.

Overall, it was a good learning experience, and I had a fun time.  The atmosphere was relaxed, with a healthy dose of snark, and it was nice being able to talk about the photo-making side of things as well as being in front of the lens.  I did feel that the concepts I had envisioned couldn’t really mesh well with the photographer’s, as he had told me several times that he’s really interested in facial expressions, and I wanted to preserve my anonymity.  Also, I have much more respect for models now, as it was much more physically demanding than I had expected it to be (the partial and full suspensions aside).

And, really, there was rope involved.  How can I complain?

Categories: photos, reflection
  1. Wilhelmina
    December 11, 2009 at 10:30 pm

    those pictures are lovely, the lack of makeup and fetish clothes hardly matters. your hair obscuring your face actually looks really cool too 🙂

  2. December 13, 2009 at 2:10 pm

    Thank you! Glad you like the photos!

  3. Chi
    December 13, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    I’m thoroughly pleased with the results, and really happy with the expressions. Sometimes just the corner of a mouth conveys a story, and you conveyed lots. Thanks for coming by and doing such a great job! Best, Chi

    • December 17, 2009 at 1:40 am

      Thanks Chi. You made it a really good experience and helped calm my anxieties about being in front of the camera a lot. I hope you got some images you really liked too!

  4. seraglioletters
    December 16, 2009 at 9:45 pm

    You look amazing–and the pictures are really phenomenal. I agree with Chi (he should know!) that the bits of your face that you can see are really evocative. I’m really encouraged that you had such a good experience–I’ve wanted to do this for a long time but have also been NERVOUS!

    Bravo, you.

    • December 17, 2009 at 1:39 am

      Thank you, sera. It is an incredibly intimidating experience to have for the first time, but I am glad I did it. It really helps to have such a down-to-earth, friendly photographer.

      And the most important thing is always to have fun, and to feel a sense of collaboration with the person behind the lens. Good luck if you decide to try for a photoshoot. I definitely understand about the nervousness.

      I’ve always hated others taking photos of me, too, since frankly I don’t often find those photos flattering and because I don’t see myself as photogenic at all.

  5. Chi
    December 21, 2009 at 10:55 am

    nell :
    Thanks Chi. You made it a really good experience and helped calm my anxieties about being in front of the camera a lot. I hope you got some images you really liked too!

    Yes indeed! The pics were great examples of rope with some emotion runing through. I’ve been using them for places less likely to compromise your anonymity, but they’ve been put to good use 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

