Home > firsts, winter > as cold as the depths of my heart

as cold as the depths of my heart

December 1, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

As those unfortunate enough to be within conversational or cyber-conversational distance with me already know, I have been dealing with extreme temperature issues, both in my apartment and just about everywhere else.  It’s always, always cold in my apartment, and always a good 5-10 degrees colder than the outside temperature in general.  And now it’s getting colder outside.

I am, in a word: fucked.

Cold does two things to me; it kills my productivity, and it severely worsens my mood.  And I get cold very easily.  So my current situation is making it pretty difficult for me to do anything useful.  I don’t want to get out of bed in the morning (though often my bed is cold too), I get sullen and depressed, and I am just not very good company to be around.  It’s agonizing enough to have to take my clothes off to take a shower.

Yes, I was a cold-blooded reptile in my past life.

On a more optimistic note, I just attended another amazing workshop by the ever-delightful Fivestar, where we learned how to make our own jute bondage rope using cheap twine.  I am in awe at the magical transformation that occurs from this really quite simple process that turns gardening twine into 6mm rope.  So I am now the proud owner of my first, roughly ten foot piece of jute rope.

And perhaps, if I can find a warm spacious area, I’ll be able to make my own jute rope kit for use with bondage someday soon.

Now that’s a warming thought.

Categories: firsts, winter
  1. Max
    December 2, 2009 at 7:17 am

    Brrr!

    I keep my house quite warm…

    Max

    • December 2, 2009 at 4:04 pm

      Which, really, is the only reason I’m visiting you, right?

  2. December 2, 2009 at 9:07 am

    i love the cold!

    i feel your pain as i live in an old, drafty house and struggle to keep every room warm, but it doesn’t bother me nearly as much as it does the others in the house.

    • December 2, 2009 at 4:05 pm

      Yeah, most people I know prefer the cold too, because they say it’s easier to layer on than strip or find a way to stay cool. I just end up feeling like a marshmallow with all these layers on.

      A grumpy, grumpy marshmallow…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

