Home > links, memories, photos > HNT: Show and Tell 2

HNT: Show and Tell 2

October 29, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

After an unexpected work shift at the café today, I arrived home to find an eagerly anticipated package waiting for me.

IMG_0275IMG_0277This is a marlinspike, which I ordered from Zac at Clockstone Studios.  Isn’t it beautiful?

I first saw this lovely piece of metalwork in the hands of Dov, back in March of this year.  Ever since I laid my eyes on it, I’ve lusted after the spike.  I found the smooth, slim shape incredibly attractive, and experienced first hand its usefulness, both in untying tight knots in rope and in pressure point play.  Yum!

Well, sometime earlier this month, I found out, again through Dov, that the person who’d made the spike was starting to sell them!  So of course I had to get my hands on one.

And now it’s here and I am just drooling over it.  I love it.  I will have to find it a good keychain so I can keep it on my key carabiner.  I can imagine all too easily losing it somewhere in my toy bag and never finding it again.

(And, yes, if you visited Zac’s website, you’ll see the spike I got is different from the ones pictured there.  He’d changed the design of the spike, but I requested one more like Dov’s, and Zac kindly indulged me.)

This isn’t all that nekkid, so in a brief departure from the weekly prompt, I will instead reveal something a little more inwardly naked:

What most people don’t know – and I don’t believe I’ve mentioned it here before – is my history with marlinspikes.  The first time I saw the word was as my former partner’s handle on a fetish site.  As a boat-worker, he’d of course had ample practical experience with the marlinspike.

After we’d been together for a few months, he told me he wanted to collar me.  I exalted, but wanted to gift him with something meaningful as well.  An idea formed quickly, but it took me a while of searching through obscure sailing equipment websites before I found what I was looking for: a single, smooth marlinspike, unattached to a pen knife or other utility set.  I ordered it and, when it arrived in the mail, took it to a local jeweler to have it engraved with a single word: Master.

I wonder sometimes if he still has it.  Or if he got rid of it before his fiancée found it and had an aneurysm.

Categories: links, memories, photos
  1. Dov
    November 2, 2009 at 5:02 pm

    Explains much 😉
    That is a beautiful piece of metal

    • November 5, 2009 at 9:49 pm

      Thanks, Dov. It is indeed a beautiful piece of metal. I will treasure it.

  2. November 6, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    very pretty. silly question but what do you do with it? it looks like a very big needle, esp. with the hole on top.

    • November 6, 2009 at 3:54 pm

      Marlinspikes were historically sailors’ tools and can either be used to tighten a knot (if the rope’s wrapped around the spike in a hitch) or to help untie a tight knot, rather than digging at it with fingers. I imagine it really came in handy with knots under tension and soaked in seawater.

      Of course now they’d also be handy to have for, say, rope suspensions and other ropework.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

