Home > photos, reflection > HNT: peak

HNT: peak

DSC_0901-2

Peaks and valleys: all part of the landscape of my body.  It’s been a long journey getting to know this terrain with such intimacy – there was a point in my life where I couldn’t bear looking at myself naked in the mirror.  Now, it seems, I am at the opposite end of the spectrum: when I take a shower, I strip in front of the bathroom vanity, fascinated at my reflection, turning this way and that to see how the muscles stretch and move, where folds appear and vanish, and, more recently, what new marks and bruises I’ve acquired.

And, of course, all of this photography.

It is all so narcissistic; sometimes I revisit old posts and feel my face flush with embarrassment at my brazen self-obsession.  Other times, I am again drawn, fascinated, to a body that is simultaneously foreign and familiar to me.  I find myself staring at my hands, palms, fingers – the way tendons link bone to muscle – in plain wonderment at their ingenious engineering.

It must be the dreariness and rain that has got me in such a somber, reflective mood.  I crave desert and dry sunshine.  I feel the wanderlust growing like an itch in my tailbone.

It’s time to get a move-on.

Categories: photos, reflection
  1. May 14, 2009 at 8:12 pm

    Hehe, a lone nipple!

    Great photo though, I love the focus/depth of field you’ve got going on there. Tantalising.

    • May 16, 2009 at 12:16 am

      Thanks Jake! It took awhile to get it right, between the low lighting and the fact that I had to hold the camera by my neck to get the shot, so I couldn’t see into the viewfinder.

  2. May 22, 2009 at 5:14 am

    The image is beautiful, as is the subject. The exquisite colour of that solitary nipple is mouthwatering…

    ~EA

    • May 27, 2009 at 12:36 am

      The question is, does it make you want to bite or suck?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

