Home > hope, reflection, writing > Hard-boiled wonderland

Hard-boiled wonderland

There must be limits, somewhere, to the human footprint on this earth.  When the whole of the world is reduced to nothing but human product, we will have lost the map that can show us how we got here, and can offer our spirits an answer when we ask why.

– Barbara Kingsolver, Small Wonder

I picked this up to accompany a friend while she sat in the bookstore, a spread of books and coffee covering the table for the grant she is writing.  I’ve always adored Kingsolver’s writing, and this book – a collection of essays on everything from 9/11 to genetic engineering to conservation of biodiversity – is no exception.

It’s always been books like this one that get my mind roiling with ideas and, god forbid, ambitions to better the world somehow.  I had been considering applying for a Fulbright Scholarship at one point earlier in the year, but other things took priority (like taxes!).  And now I am once again free to scheme and plot all the possibilities for the grant.  I love that Kingsolver also has a background in biology, but has pursued writing as a career.  I love that edge where science and art intermingle, that unlikely binary that I have fought to understand the relationship of since I caught my first bug, and then proceeded to draw it in my sketch pad.

So the slow formation and coalescing of ideas has started, yet I have nothing tangible enough to put on an application.  Mostly, I want to explore the interdisciplinary as a mode of living life: the idea that we cannot understand any one concept or subject without also learning everything it is connected to.  Interdisciplinary, interconnectedness.  Lines of relationship and definition, like the lines of a drawing defining a thing’s presence.  The visual and written, somehow interwoven into a complete form of self-expression.

So many ideas!  How do you write a Statement of Purpose that describes your desire to write, paint, draw, everything and its relationship to everything else?

Categories: hope, reflection, writing
  1. April 12, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Have you read Silent Spring by Rachel Carson? It bought tears to my eye, it’s classic brilliant scientific writing.

    • April 12, 2009 at 8:23 pm

      I am ashamed to say that I still have not read Silent Spring. I think I even own it, but I just have never got around to it. Same with Jane Goodall’s Reason for Hope.

      Thanks for reminding me, though! Definitely will make the effort to get it when I have the chance.

      • April 17, 2009 at 12:55 pm

        Read it or you’re in for a spanking. An ecologically sound, sustainable spanking 😛

  2. April 18, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Jake – only if that’s a promise 😉

    Now there’s a way to promote environmental awareness. Give out a spank for each bottle recycled and light turned off.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

