Home > firsts > bondage workshop in review

bondage workshop in review

Last weekend I attended a rope bondage workshop near Boston.  As nervous as I was the first few minutes of getting in the car (exasperated by my getting on the wrong highway in my distraction), I felt increasingly more excited as I neared my destination.  I had no idea what to expect, no idea if I’d enjoy it or feel completely unwelcome.

When I entered the function room that had been reserved for this event, there was already one woman tied in a chest harness chatting with the few dozen people scattered around.  I got in line to pay the class fee, and was greeted warmly by the man who organized the event.  He had remembered my name from my RSVP and e-mailed me prior to the event reassuring me that the workshop was focused on education, with no sexual tension or pressure.  I felt visibly more relaxed after I talked to him, paid the fee, and sat down to wait.

It was indeed a very laid back and welcoming atmosphere, though I didn’t approach anyone and introduce myself, in my typical stand-offish way.  I was content to just watch and wait for the class to start.

Once the ropes came out and I was partnered up, though, I was more talkative – mostly due to my partner never having touched rope before.  I tried to help him out as much as I could, listening to the rigger and figuring out the knots and ties with him.  Once it got to tying arms around the back, though, I couldn’t do much.

I will say, though, that as I watched the main rigger and other couples making the chest harness, I felt a surprising desire to be the one with the rope in my hand, making the ties and beautiful ropework I was seeing around me.  At the same time, the feel of the rope against my body and feeling the resistance as I moved my shoulders and arms calmed and centered me, and I began to float off into my own little world.  This was especially evident once the chest harness turned into a full hogtie that had me lying flat on my stomach.  I was so quiet that a few people asked if I was alright.

That is part of what I enjoyed most out of this workshop – the attention to safety, the stress on communication between top and bottom, the discussion on how to use the rope responsibly.  At no time was I worried about my safety.

And, of course, I enjoyed  the challenge of trying to get out of the ties.

All in all, a positive experience that reconnected me to rope bondage.  I’m glad I didn’t chicken out at the last minute, which would have been all too easy to do given my nervousness.

Categories: firsts
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

