Home > winter, writing > my New England affair

my New England affair

Oh, baby, what’s gotten into you lately?  You’ve been cold, I understand – it’s natural this time of year.  But then you started to warm up, and I thought, maybe things will start to change now, for the better.

I should have known you for the tease you are.  A cold, cold tease, easing off your icy skirts to reveal hints of the warmth underneath, only to hide them away again in a flurry of white.  Why, why would you do this to me?  It’s already been so long now…Don’t you think it’s time for a chance to get intimate again?  Why don’t you warm up a little?

First cold, then hot, then cold, now you’re warming up again.  I just don’t know if I can trust you to be stable.  I need to have some stability in my life, you know.  You’re beautiful when you’re cold, but this is just one long PMS cycle, isn’t it?

I’m sorry, baby, but I just don’t think I can do this anymore.  There is no more “us.”  Maybe there never was…

I cannot wait for spring
Categories: winter, writing
  1. March 12, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Hilarious and so true! I, too, am quite impatiently waiting for some warmth…

  2. Wilhelmina
    March 13, 2009 at 8:17 pm

    omg I so sympathize with this 😦

  3. March 19, 2009 at 10:58 pm

    Laurie – I thought traveling four hours south would give me some reprieve, but it is quite chilly here as well! Damn that bitch named winter!

    Wilhelmina – Here’s to hoping for some sunny weather after the break!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

