Home > ethereal, hope, life, links > And yet I still felt I had something to lose

And yet I still felt I had something to lose

January 10, 2009 Leave a comment Go to comments

Did my existence offer anything against its own extinction?… I didn’t want to leave this scene. I didn’t care which world was coming next. I don’t know why I felt this, but how could I just walk out on life? It didn’t seem like the responsible thing to do.

Even if no one would miss me, even if I left no blank space in anyone’s life, even if no one noticed, I couldn’t leave willingly. Loss was not a skill, not a measure of a life. And yet I still felt I had something to lose.

– Murakami, Hard-boiled Wonderland and the End of the World

Categories: ethereal, hope, life, links
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

