Home > ethereal, writing > ruminations

ruminations

Godforsaken. You say it low, against the wind pulling at your hair, and yet it sounds like a shriek. I edge away from the tension in your voice, yet am somehow drawn to your side again, by magnetic pathways I don’t understand.

Godforsaken. You laugh, short and barking, wide-eyed and wild.

Do you believe? He’s right there. Right up there. Looming overhead…everywhere, everywhere! Pointing up at the grey sky threatening rain. The sky that today feels like a wool blanket, slowly suffocating, pressing down. The air tastes electric; like blood. I am surprised my hair is not standing on end, even more so that yours does not, a mad-scientist ‘fro to match your maniacal eyes and feral grin.

But even my nervousness is laced with your burning, contagious energy, bubbling underneath, threatening to burst through. My heartbeat quickens as I catch a whiff of rain. The wind whips between us, lashes at our hair. I devour the air viciously into my lungs. As if I were drowning.

I can see it in your eyes. Your lust, your passion, your unquenchable thirst. In your eyes I see you running, leaping through pine needles and loam, naked and free. Screaming up at your God, a throat-ripping scream merging your rage and exaltation.

I look down. Your limbs are trembling.

I realize mine are, too.

I look back up, into your crazed eyes. I see myself reflected there, grinning wildly.

Categories: ethereal, writing
  1. J
    March 26, 2007 at 12:09 am

    “…unquenchable thirst…”

    beautiful…powerful…a peek behind the curtains, I think.

    Thanks for this…stirring prose

  2. DL's toy
    March 28, 2007 at 2:42 am

    Very nice, nell, indeed.LOVED it :o)

  3. nell
    March 28, 2007 at 2:35 pm

    J-Thank you! I hoped it would be stirring…i meant it to be.

    Toy-I’m glad you enjoyed this…very different post. hehe

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

