Home > humor, life, poll > To skin, or not

To skin, or not

My cousin is nearing the last month of her pregnancy. It’s a little boy, and this is the latest discussion:

To circumcize, or not to circumcize?

It is quite interesting to listen to. From maternal worries of her son’s future love life, to my own mother’s worries of infection. The verdict seems to be leaning towards leaving him as nature gifted him, and let him decide on his own.

Who would want to make that decision??

Anyway, I think this is worth opening up to you, although I know it’s been hashed out before. Pros and cons of both? Differences in sensation, or performance?

And has anyone decided on circumcision on their own?

Categories: humor, life, poll
  1. J
    March 23, 2007 at 7:15 am

    Seriously?

    Okay. Let’s see. On the one hand, men who are cut have lower rates of penile cancer. On the other hand…

    They cut off part of your dick!!!!!! It’s gotta hurt, tho I don’t remember. Plus, who ever heard of somebody wanting their cock to be a little shorter?

    I’m pretty sure, if they had asked me…I’d have said ‘no.’ But thanks, anyway.

  2. the cherub
    March 23, 2007 at 2:31 pm

    Being Jewish i didn’t really have a choice, and don’t really have a view on whats better. I did however reclaim that part of my self with a few rituals and a PA and Amplang pericing.

    so thats my story.

    cherub

  3. Matthew
    March 23, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    “On the one hand, men who are cut have lower rates of penile cancer.” This is not fact. The rate of penile cancer is the same in USA as Europe.

    It is basically barbaric.

    Of course I had no choice. I was a day old.

    Matthew

  4. wordslut
    March 23, 2007 at 7:47 pm

    I am surprised it was even a debate, frankly. Except for religious reasons, I can’t see why anyone would choose to put a baby (or himself!) through that.

  5. nell
    March 23, 2007 at 8:45 pm

    J -Haha, those are good points. I did some reading on good ol’ Wikipedia on it, and it seems like there are some benefits-lessened risk of HIV and HPV, for two. But it does seem like an outdated practice now. Interesting that so many people in the US still do it.

    the cherub -Ouch. I don’t know which sounds more painful-the circumcision or the piercings! What do you mean by rituals?

    matthew-I read that circumcision can be done as part of the treatment for penile cancer. Perhaps that’s what J meant? In any case, I would agree that it doesn’t seem necessary anymore, except for religious purposes, perhaps. (Although, there are African tribes that do female genital cutting, right? I’m definitely against that, tradition or no!)

    WS-Yeah, I agree. Even my cousin’s doctor was telling her that it wasn’t recommended. I guess it is mostly the disease aspect… but proper hygiene should reduce that a lot anyway.

  6. J
    March 24, 2007 at 7:44 pm

    I guess the point is, there is no good reason to do it…Matthew may be right about penile cancer rates…it isn’t a subject I am willing to argue about. it was at one time considered the best science on the matter, but still…

    they cut off a piece of your dick!

    The biggest argument for it has always been religious or cultural anyway…or so little timmy looks like daddy in the shower.

    My question is: What the hell is daddy doing showering with little timmy anyway?

  7. Matthew
    March 26, 2007 at 6:11 pm

    “… looks like daddy in the shower.”

    I have actually heard this one face to face.

    That is so lame. What if you lost your finger in an industrialww accident? Do cut off timmy’s finger.

    Matthew

  8. the cherub
    March 28, 2007 at 5:19 pm

    nell Said
    the cherub -Ouch. I don’t know which sounds more painful-the circumcision or the piercings! What do you mean by rituals?

    Well since I did not have a choice due Adams convanant with G-D. i decided to do somthing for my self to relaim that part of my self. One on the rituals where i got the PA done was also to provide energy for a new business (Tattoo and Peircing) about 10 men were done at once, accually the PA was almost painless a quick pinch and done. The Ampalang was a number of years later, i had had a breakup and had finally gotten over it to celebrate and close those ties I got the Amplang. A former Mistress head my hand through it and people said the felt the energy on the other side of the building (that one was intense).the only piercings that i have had that did not take were my Nipples (they did not heal right and had to be removed)they were done with out a ritual attached my Mistress at the time just wanted me to have them (they were also the most painfull).

  9. Anonymous
    March 29, 2007 at 4:55 am

    Do NOT permit this ghastly mutilation. OK, there are religious reasons for some people and I make no comment on that and AIDS researchers in Africa have proven that the thickening of the skin on an exposed glans(the cock head) reduces the risk of HIV infection but your nephew is not living in a world where 20% of the population is HIV positive or where condoms are unavailable. The penile cancer claim is just rubbish. If anybody is considering this procedure for anything other than medical reasons then it is nothing more or less than a disfiguring assault on a helpless child. Stop it now.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

