Home > life, links, sundry, travelog > Brrrr….

Brrrr….

Jesus it’s cold. It’s pale. It’s brown and grey.

Yes, I am back home – 1 boat, 3 airplanes, and a car ride later. Already I feel the warmth seeping out of my body. I’ve spent the day either huddled in my comforter or by the fireplace, where I was burning wood by 2pm.

I’ve also turned very, very dark-skinned, much to the chagrin of my mother. It’s actually quite amusing. Just goes to show how differently aesthetic appeal varies from culture to culture. Tanned skin is viewed as crude and a sign of a low class worker in most East Asian countries. Farmers and the like.

So, amid the jokes about my having changed race and mad concoctions to lighten my skin, I’ve been mostly relaxing, drinking tea, trying to stay warm, stoking the fire, and not unpacking…

I also went internet surfing to catch up on my interests, and found this code for a countdown to the Harry Potter book and movie. So that’s now on the bottom of the blog. Yay!

What else? Really, what can I say? I miss the Caribbean something awful. I miss the people on the trip, with whom I’ve bonded, through the traveling, the projects, the sometimes extraordinary situations we found ourselves in.

Goodbye, Costa Rica, and Little Cayman Island. Pura vida…

Categories: life, links, sundry, travelog
  1. Matthew
    March 12, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Tropics are so inviting. The weather and the pace, throw in the food, beer, and people. Well, makes for a great experience.

    It is going to be 75 here today.

    -Matthew

  2. Shon Richards
    March 12, 2007 at 4:46 pm

    Welcome back 🙂

  3. J
    March 12, 2007 at 8:29 pm

    I am far from the tropics, and yet it will be 65 degrees today.

    Something about sheltering behind the mountains, facing East.

    Springtime.

    Welcome home.

  4. nell
    March 13, 2007 at 2:29 am

    Matthew-Yes, the tropics were indeed a great experience-one I will never forget.Nice to be somewhere this warm in March!Shon-Thanks! It is good to be back, despite all of my complaining.J-Alas, 65 still sounds cold after living in 75 degree weather for the past 3 weeks. But I’ll adjust, and it is getting warmer.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment