Home > life lessons, travelog > On the road and feelin’ dirty

On the road and feelin’ dirty

January 14, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

Tomorrow, we end our 10-day long stay at Palo Verde Research Station and head to Santa Rosa for a couple well-deserved days relaxing by the beach. Granted, we have to walk part of the way there while our stuff is driven to the campsite by car.

It’s been a pretty incredible experience so far. We’ve started off our stay in a dry lowland forest, and it’s the dry season. Not the humid, dense, tropical rainforest we were all expecting. Still, it is definitely an exotic area, where one can see peccaries and white-faced capuchins while eating lunch, find iguanas perpetually lazing around the station, and chase anoles out of one’s bedroom. We’re hoping to see some sea turtles when we get to the beach, too, which would be absolutely amazing.

However, it hasn’t been all adventures and fun. I feel the pressure and stress of our workload every day, and am extremely humbled by how smart everyone on this trip is. Not having taken a science course for the past two terms hasn’t helped, either. I’m barely keeping up, it seems!

And, on a decidedly heavier note, my mother found my handcuffs, drawings, and a bdsm photo book I had.

Yes, I was ready to bury myself then and there. It’s all gone – she’s thrown it all out. And what could I do? Stutter out some cover-up stories … deny her more outrageous claims and accusations … apologize for the freak-out I caused her…

This will probably make a great story in the distant future. But right now I’m just fighting the urge to either bash my head against a wall, or bury it in the sand. What a mess…

I’m going to miss those handcuffs…

Categories: life lessons, travelog
  1. Shon Richards
    January 15, 2007 at 5:19 am

    There is something inherently mind blowing about a parent throwing away a child’s property once you’re like, over 18. Don’t feel shame, feel righteous anger at the invasion of privacy and her attempt to micro-manage your sex life.

    Honestly, this is a defining moment to growing up. It’s where you decide if your parents are going to be your primary doms.

    Enjoy your trip by the way 🙂

  2. Lazy Geisha
    January 19, 2007 at 6:47 pm

    Oh that’s no fun! She threw away your stash? Egads!

    xoxo,
    nina

  3. J
    January 19, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    Sort of shows the value of a locking box for you toy collection, doesn’t it?

    As for defining moments…well, yeah, it’s defining in one sense: that your mom’s image of you has been dramatically re-defined!

    Every parent crosses that particular line at some point, as does every child. When we realize that they are not who we thought they were, and vice versa. The important thing is what happens next.

    In my family, we take the delightful approach of pretending that nothing at all happened, for awhile, except in the most extreme situations. Then discussing things matter-of-factly over dinner weeks later. After all, I acquired my interesting inclinations somewhere, didn’t I? As did you…

    “So, you may have noticed that you pot has gone missing…you really need to find a better spot to hide it, don’t you think? Now, you aren’t driving around with that in your car, are you?”

    There is an old saying that goes something like this: “The apple never falls far from the tree.”

    It is either a commentary on genetics, environment, and/or both as they pertain to familial tendencies and the behavior of children, in particular.

    So…do you ever wonder what your mom has tucked away in her closet?

    And maybe she didn’t throw those wonderful handcuffs away at all…maybe mom and dad now have some fun new activities for a Saturday evening…

    Hmmm?

    Nah, probably not.

  4. nell
    January 21, 2007 at 7:28 pm

    Shon -I don’t know…I understand her panic and fear. I feel guilty for causing that. I’m sure I would in her place, even given my own interests.But you are right – I do need to leave the nest at some point and find my own legs.nina -Nope, no fun at all!j – That is very disturbing, the idea of my mother’s sexual life. Besides, I don’t think her image of me has been redefined so much as completely shattered…

  1. June 1, 2009 at 11:21 am

Leave a Reply

