slices

December 28, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

I have an HNT photo (above), sketches (below), and some random spewage from the ‘net. Today is a day of errands.

This is your brain. This is your brain on drugs.

I have started taking chloroquine in preparation to fend off malaria while in Central America. 17 pills, once a week. Go!

I also have a week of vivotif to take, starting today, for typhoid prevention.

I gots the good stuff.


I think I’m starting to better understand why artists deviate from the conventional, Renaissance-era, realism. As someone who thrives off of super-realism and technical detail, I used to wonder why Picasso turned more and more to the simplistic, even child-like works later in life. What Salvador Dali found appealing in melting clocks.

This is just my personal theory, but I think, simply put, they were bored with realism. Confident in their technical ability to render lifelike works of art, they chose to challenge themselves by stretching reality, creating their own.

I like both of these artists a lot (although Dali took awhile to grow on me), although I’m also still a fan of more classical artists, like Vermeer and Rembrandt.


This is a yummy photograph I found a while ago, by a photographer named Jarek Kubicki. It’s a favorite of mine, and perfect as a sketch study of hands. Veined, muscled, tense hands, against soft, curvy, fleshy ones. Not to mention the beautiful composition, lighting…sigh.

All credit goes to him! I just wanted to draw hands…I love hands. Granted, once you see the photograph, some glaring errors come to light, and it’s unfinished, but I stopped when my cheap ballpoint pen ran out of ink.

So it goes…

I found this a couple days ago. It’s a recording of a Verizon customer’s phone call to their customer service, in which he tries to clarify whether the rate charged to him is $0.002, or 0.002¢. Unfortunately, Verizon can’t tell the difference between these two values.

Categories: art, graphic girl, links, photos, sundry
  1. J
    December 28, 2006 at 7:22 pm

    What a great HNT submission…(get it?…submission?)

    and the sketches! I love them.

    Happy new year…and enjoy those wonderful prophylactic medications.

    They are so much better than the alternatives.

  2. wordslut
    December 28, 2006 at 9:10 pm

    Beautiful drawings, and very creative HNT! I might need to find out how you did that …

  3. nell
    December 28, 2006 at 8:53 pm

    J -Thanks! Have a happy new year too!Mmm, drugs…

  4. nell
    December 28, 2006 at 10:08 pm

    WS -Thank you, I’m glad you like them!Get a roll of latex tape and a pair of satin gloves, and I’ll show you 😉

  5. J
    December 29, 2006 at 5:00 am

    Ooooh.

    can I watch that demonstration?

    I’ll hold the camera!

  6. His fucktoy
    December 30, 2006 at 8:12 pm

    Indeed, beautiful sketches, you talented girl!

    Xanax is a good drug too (so i’ve heard)

    And i have a weakness for Dali’s surreal perspective too. They make sense to me. i like swans and cypress

    Surrealism rocks.
    So do your drawings (for real!!)
    i love them. Great perspective.

    Chiming in with the rest of the chorus: “Have a Fantastic New Year!”
    And have a safe trip!!

  7. nell
    December 31, 2006 at 1:22 am

    Toy -Oooh, I hadn’t seen swans. Lovely!Thanks for the compliments and well wishes. Have a wonderful New Year as well!I hope I won’t be needing the Xanax for my trip 😉

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

