Home > graphic girl, hope, life, sundry > Graphic Girl

Graphic Girl

December 16, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

I seem to have hit a dearth of writing subjects. And desire. I got nothin’ (and yet I’m still writing now). Life, admittedly, has been sluggish at best. It is 50 and breezy, foggy at night. I have yet to start holiday shopping, card making/sending, or preparing for my study abroad program. Yikes.

I feel a lot more comfortable though, being here. At a new (and old at the same time) URL. Writing the simple code for my new header reminded me of how much fun that kind of stuff is. And I feel much more at ease without the ghosts of the not-so-distant past marking the blog with their invisible presence.

I have been nurturing an idea for a while now, something I have been wanting to do but never knew quite how to get started on. A comic.

It started a couple days after I read Shon Richard’s post on Inspiration. At first, I didn’t think I could really relate, not being a writer myself. But after letting that statement sit and ferment in the back of my head, I thought, I’m not a writer, but I’m a visual artist, and two forms of art are never too far apart in understanding.

Soon afterwards, the idea, really the germ of an idea, of doing a comic appeared in my head, and I’ve been guarding it, examining it, probing it, and finally nurturing it ever since. And, what better than to center it around what I love thinking and writing about most? Domination, submission…just those two words alone provide enough potential fodder for a graphic novel. Yum.

But before I get too excited and ahead of myself and spew everything out half-conceived, there is much more to think about. Character sketches. Character history. Story lines, plots, relationships. I’m worried about feeling overwhelmed before I even start, and giving up!

If this does come to life, it will be an exciting new venture for me. It will be wholly intimate as well, displaying my work, and will also make the blog that much more personal. Because as much as I enjoy writing here, it is really visual representation and creation that I thrive on.

Perhaps this is a premature announcement, to say this all now, but perhaps it will also force me to take action more quickly, and get the ball rolling. I already have character sketches. Maybe I’ll post them up sometime…

I’d also like to invite any of you, dear readers, to offer ideas as well, especially for the storyboarding part. I’m thinking loosely of it involving a heterosexual couple’s discovery and journey through bdsm, and sex and debauchery (whoo!), but that’s pretty vague…

Categories: graphic girl, hope, life, sundry
  1. wordslut
    December 18, 2006 at 3:56 am

    1. You are a writer. What do you mean?

    2. Cool idea.

    3. Write what you know. It might be too soon to write a story about your just-ended relationship, and of course that won’t be all of it, but as a wise friend once said of my ex-dom, “He’s just source material now.”

  2. Shon Richards
    December 18, 2006 at 1:44 pm

    Please do your comic. Do your sketches, do your outlines and do whatever else makes you happy and excited. Don’t worry about the final product just yet. Turn the blog into your private studio that just happens to have a big glass window for others to see. Seize your excitement now and make something only you can make.

    I’d argue you’re a writer too, but I know what you meant 🙂

  3. nell
    December 18, 2006 at 6:03 pm

    WS -1. I don’t know how to explain it, beyond that I’m a competent writer, but not a writer…2. Thanks :D3. Heh…source material…so very true.Shon -Thanks for the encouragement! I can’t wait to get this really going…And I’m glad you knew what I meant.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

