Home > ethereal > honor and love

honor and love

December 8, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

I am so saddened. I am crying for a man I never knew. One who died trying to save his wife and two daughters.

Trying to drive home to San Fransisco from Oregon, the Kim family took a wrong turn and ended up snow-stranded on a mountain road. After nine days of biscuits and burned tires, James Kim left the car to seek help. He walked over 10 miles before succumbing to exposure and hypothermia.

Just thinking about what he, they, went through, what they are going through now, gives me an icy chill. To imagine what was going through his, and their, minds, throughout the ordeal… And I can’t stop the tears.

What really strikes my heart, however, is imagining myself in that similar situation, and imagining my own father attempting the same thing. That frightens me beyond belief. Perhaps it is why I am so deeply affected by this. Perhaps I have not been so desensitized to small, individual tragedies by the news media.

It is strange, too, to feel anger and resentment… to feel the urge to lash out with thoughts of “Why didn’t he just stay in the car?“, “Why didn’t they turn around earlier?

I can’t write, want to write, I don’t know… No words seem adequate. I feel so small today.

Categories: ethereal
  1. Anonymous
    December 11, 2006 at 7:14 pm

    I hate to sound callus, but it’s Darwinism at work. The poor bastard made mistake after mistake to end up dead. A little common sense and this would have turned out a lot better for everyone. This is a recurring theme here in Oregon; stupidity kills people.

  2. nell
    December 12, 2006 at 3:29 am

    While that may be true, I can only imagine what it must be like to be stuck with such limited options and a fast-dwindling supply of resources.How his instincts were torn between him staying to protect his, waiting and biding his time, or trying to find help more quickly.I don’t know what I would do in such a situation, but I know desperation would surely win over any other instincts if it meant a chance of survival.It’s also much easier to say how it would have turned out better, having the benefit of hindsight.And none of this lessens the sense of tragedy experienced by those close to the family.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

