Home > school > a continued beginning

a continued beginning

September 24, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

Another term. I’m going into this fall term both with feelings of trepidation and immense excitement. Excitement for the subjects themselves; trepidation that I won’t be able to put full effort into any one course.

A painting class, a 3-D modeling class, a linguistics class, and an independent study.

At any school that runs on the semester system rather than the quarter system, 4 classes seems – normal at best, maybe even paltry compared to students’ 4, 5, 6 course loads. But at 9 weeks or so a term, information is jam-packed into each class, there is no room for slacking or falling behind.

This term, I can’t get sick. God help me if I do. I am popping multivitamins and drinking plenty of water, trying to exercise more…

Between my 2 jobs and my classes, I have developed an increasing paranoia of my time-management. Nothing is good enough, efficient enough, fast enough. I still haven’t learned to pace myself. It’s still all or nothing. But I can’t afford to keep doing that.

Well, enough whining for now. If anything suffers, it will be my independent study. But hopefully my professor will help keep me on my toes.

Perhaps something more palatable to write about will surface later. For now … more modeling.

Categories: school
  1. C
    September 25, 2006 at 3:36 pm

    I graduated from college almost six years ago and I still haven’t figured out how to manage my time. If you figure it out, let me know!

    Hang in there…

  2. nell
    September 26, 2006 at 1:04 am

    Thanks c! Not sure I’ll figure it out any time soon, it seems like a lifelong learning experience.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

