Home > links, reflection > a moment of acknowledgement

a moment of acknowledgement

September 11, 2006 Leave a comment Go to comments

I have been wondering, all day, if I should say something about this day. Whether or not to jump on the bandwagon, so to speak. I have read many posts today, and for the past couple days, dealing with the five-year anniversary of 9/11. And, like all of those people, I have a “I remember where I was” story.

But it is hard. Not for the same reason as many others; for me, this was a very distant event, emotionally. My mother saw the smoke at a conference meeting she was attending that day in Manhattan. So did my cousin, who was attending Pace University at the time. It was frightening, but again, at the same time, I felt disconnected from the emotions that seemed to pervade others’ lives. Of course I feel sadness for what happened, as well as a dull ache at the lost lives. It is easy to be empathic when seeing the 24/7 live coverage that Peter Jennings did that day.

I did not lose anyone I hold dear that day. I did not hear of families in my town who lost loved ones. I do not know anyone serving in any military capacity (well, one exception, but he hopefully won’t be called upon any time soon). I was, in effect, emotionally sheltered from the tragedy, as well as its ensuing consequences.

I am also not particularly patriotic, although I do feel America offers an amazing amount of opportunities across a wide spectrum of class and status. Of course it’s not perfect; no place is. After reading such chilling dystopias as 1984 and Brave New World, I would rather take imperfections any day. Who knows what the future holds, but I am neither pessimistic nor fatalistic about it. Perhaps I have been too heavily influenced by Isaac Asimov’s psychohistory series, The Foundation.

Well, I did not mean for this to become a linkfest of novel names (heh), so I’ll stop there before it becomes a bookwormish frenzy. I hope to have some time for leisure reading the next couple of days, though.

Categories: links, reflection
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

