breezy

I stepped outside to go to class this morning, and felt a gust of autumn-y, nostalgia-laden wind. It reminded me of the crackle of frost, and then I looked down and saw a cluster of red maple leaves. The sight captured me, as if I’d been frozen in time … or transported back into a past season, or all past seasons. I shook myself free and leaned into my walk, nose searching for that whiff of autumn I had sensed – or had I just remembered it?

The mixture of past memories and present reality stayed with me until I entered the arts center. The spell broke.

There is still a lot of work to be done. I am excited for the term to end, and for the new one to begin. Fall term. Looking forward to pumpkin carving, Homecoming, bonfires, hikes under the changing canopy, the privilege of living in a shiny new dorm, the incoming freshmen, and classes, classes, classes.

Categories: ethereal, reflection, school
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

